Finalising the FMP

I designed posters to illustrate colours as a deuteranope would see them. I did this by getting accurate CMYK codes for each colour, and then putting that colour through the Sim Daltonism filter to give me something that looks the same to me, but is in fact very different. I realised that without context this wouldn’t mean very much so I opted to create food based patterns for each colour. My reasoning for this was that when I showed people things filtered to match deuteranopia, I’d tend to see bigger reaction when people saw food; it would often look gross. So, I designed patterns for each to invoke food that would match the colour. I also collected semiotic inferences for each of the colours to have at the bottom. I wanted these posters to be strange and confusing at first, and combined with a piece of editorial, communicate the message that colour isn’t as simple as it seems.I decided I would increase the scope of these posters to also include versions with tritanopia, blue/yellow colour blindness, as well. Further than this, I added ‘correct’ versions of each poster, so I had a triptych of each colour. It was these I brought to a tutorial. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.